The busy A166
road from Driffield to York passes through the middle of the village
which is one of the highest on the Wolds at 500 feet above sea level
and the view is spectacular on a clear day. The horseshoe of houses
is named "Wolds View" and gives just that! A beautiful
view of the Yorkshire . One of the newest properties to be built
in the village in 1998/99 has been named "Wolds Way" after
the number of walks which take the hardy walker right across the
Wolds. The Old School which stands on the York Road was closed many
Fridaythorpe has its own butchers shop, a garage which not only
sells fuel but also has a shop and newsagents attached.
Manor House Inn and Restaurant has been extensively modernised
from the original Manor house of 1470, and boasts excellent catering
and accommodation facilities.
The Cross Keys public house was sadly demolished
in 2001 to make way for a new housing development.
The tiny St Marys Church stands well away from the main road
in a quiet lane in the centre of the village and in 1999 was undergoing
some building work. It has a most unusual clock on its exterior
wall made of wood with bold black and white scrollwork. The clock
is believed to have been copied from one like it in an 18th
century French chateau and announces "Time is Short, Eternity
The once called Fridaythorpe Mill is now owned and named by ABN
and is an extremely busy mill providing work for many of the local
One can find some unusual bell shaped concrete blocks along side
the B 1251 as you leave the village. These were placed by a man
called Mr Newark Andrews, a local farmer, to mark the entrance to
his fields in the 1960s and still remain in situe.